South Australia

Member Login

Member events and resources

Forgot Password?

ASCC announces finalists for Safe Work Australia Awards


Friday 9 January 2009

In its fourth year, the Safe Work Australia Awards are the premier national awards for recognising excellence in workplace safety. Thirty eight finalists across five award categories were announced today for the 2008 Safe Work Australia Awards.

"The high calibre of this year's finalists is a great indication of the leadership and commitment to improve OHS right across Australia," said Chairman of the ASCC, Mr Bill Scales.

"Each year, the national Safe Work Australia Awards recognise health and safety excellence in management and innovation, at the government, organisational and individual level. The thirty eight finalists represent a range of industries and all are worthy of being publicly recognised for their outstanding achievements in helping to reduce workplace deaths, accidents, injury and disease.

This is important because over 140, 000 Australians are seriously injured at work every year and more than 250 die as a result of work-related injuries. The cost of OHS to the Australian economy is estimated at $34 billion dollars.

"Recognising excellence in OHS is important and the Safe Work Australia Awards are a great opportunity to reward the hard work and innovation of those who have made a very real difference to safety in the workplace.

Finalists for each of the five Award categories were winners of OHS awards in their state or territory jurisdiction. An independent judging panel will now consider each finalist's award submission and the winners will be announced on World Day for Health and Safety at Work on 28 April next year.

The list of Award finalists is attached. Further details on finalist submissions can be found at

CATEGORY 1 Best Workplace Health and Safety Management System

This award recognises demonstrated commitment to continuous improvement of workplace health and safety through the implementation of an integrated systems approach.

Matrix Compliance Management & Blackett Homes (ACT)
National Australia Bank Limited (Comcare)
Joss Group (NSW)
ETSA Utilities (SA)
Cement Australia, Railton Operations (TAS)
Nestle - Uncle Tobys (VIC)
Main Roads Western Australia (WA)

CATEGORY 2 Best Solution to an Indentified Workplace Health and Safety Issue

This award recognises excellence in developing and implementing a solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue. Entries for this award may include a product solution, design/engineering innovation, a training program, awareness-raising activity or other risk control measure that reduces the risk of work-related injury and disease.

Bovis Lend Lease (ACT)
John Holland Rail Pty Ltd (Comcare)
The Dorsal Boutique (NSW)
J Smith & Sons Pty Ltd (QLD)
Toll AutoLogistics (SA)
Toll Shipping and Health by Design Pty Ltd (Seacare)
Tasmanian Alkaloids Pty Ltd (TAS)
Smarter Safer Solutions (VIC)
APC Storage Solutions (WA)

CATEGORY 3 Best Workplace Health and Safety Practices in Small Business

The small business category may include, but is not limited to, any of the following:
- solutions to identified risks
- a demonstrated commitment to safety
- improved consultation
- training programs
- toolbox meetings where occupational health and safety is discussed or
- any other practice that has improved occupational health and safety performance in your business.

This category is limited to small businesses that have less than 20 employees or full-time equivalents.

Appliance Tagging Services Franchise 4 (ACT)
WP Projects (NSW)
Bailey Tanks Pty Ltd (QLD)
Association of Wall and Ceiling Industries of South Australia (SA)
Bill Grant Engineering (VIC)
Southern Brake and Services Pty Ltd (WA)
King & Harding Excavation & Seal (TAS)

CATEGORY 4 Public Sector Leadership Award for Injury Prevention and Management
This award recognises government organisations that demonstrate commitment to continuous improvement in occupational health and safety (OHS) and injury management performance through the application of leadership and best practice in the workplace. This award is open to all levels of government (federal, state and local) and includes departments, agencies, authorities and government business enterprises.

ACT Health Injury Prevention and Management Unit (ACT)
Centrelink - Call Network (Comcare)
Eraring Energy (NSW)
Repatriation General Hospital OHS & Injury Management Unit (SA)
Burnie City Council (TAS)
Department of Agriculture & Food (WA)

CATEGORY 5 Best Individual Contribution to Workplace Health and Safety

This award recognises an individual such as a health and safety representative who is not a management employee, whose contribution has made an exceptional difference to health and safety in their workplace.

Steve Douglas, Bovis Lend Lease (ACT)
Jerome Gubbels, John Holland Group (Comcare)
Paul Waters, Eraring Energy (NSW)
Noelene Lucjan, Environmental Protection Agency (QLD)
Viki Coad, Wingara Wine Group (SA)
Aaron Schubert, Teekay Shipping (Australia) Pty Ltd (Seacare)
David Nicholls, Tasmania Alkaloids Pty Ltd, Westbury (TAS)
William B Thomson, Department of Human Services (VIC)
Suzie Johns, Bunnings Morley (WA)